Heaven Sent 1: Heaven
Jet Mykles
ebook
Get it here!

Tyler’s a big fan of Johnnie’s band Heaven Sent. And from the first moment they meet his body acts like it wants Johnnie. Johnnie definitely wants Tyler, and everyone wants to sleep with a rock star, but…Tyler’s not gay.

Heaven Sent 2: PurgatoryJet Mykles
ebook
Get it here!

Luc defines everything Reese has ever found beautiful. It’s no wonder the famous bass player stars in many a teenager’s dreams. Once, Luc rejected Reese. Now he says he wants him. Why should Reese believe him?

Heaven Sent 3: HellJet Mykles
ebook
Get it here!

Brent’s attraction toward Hell is undeniable. Surprisingly, Hell wants him too. But a relationship between two members of the same band is a really bad idea. Isn’t it?

Top:
I sidled around these books for awhile before purchasing them, eyeing them suspiciously. I didn’t know what to think about rock stars as romantic interests; like cowboys and vampires, I’m not thrilled with rock stars. But the cover art was attractive, and I’d already read a book by Myckles before, and enjoyed it. Taking the chance, I bought all three.

Heaven:
I don’t share many interests with Johnnie, so a lot of his charm passed over my head, but I have to say that I was completely satisfied with the role he played – he was just as he should have been. Tyler’s charm, on the other hand, was abundant from the very beginning, and I alternated between drooling over such a piece of sweetness, and wanting to give him a hug. I’d have to say that this was my favorite pairing.

Purgatory:
I was rooting for Luc through this entire book. Sure, I felt sorry for the upheaval he was causing in Reese’s life, but Reese was due for a good world-shattering and Luc was just the man to do it.
Luc had a touch more angst and Reese a touch less sweetness than the Johnnie/Tyler pairing, but overall, they were a strong contender for my favorite pairing.

Hell:
Brent and Heller were never in the running for my favorite pair, and this was entirely due to the fact that I didn’t like Hell. I liked Brent – I liked the fact that he wasn’t perfect, that he had self-esteem issues, that he blossomed with a guitar in his hand yet wilted under public attention. He was a wonderful character, the only one in the band that really made me think I was reading about a rock star, and if he’d been paired with anyone other than the childish, whining, pouting, trouble-making Hell, it would definitely have been my favorite pairing.
I understood what Myckles was doing with this pairing – I just didn’t like it.

Overall:
I really liked Myckles’ use of minor characters to push the story along. None of the guys were living in a vacuum, relating only to each other, and I appreciated all the little extras, like Tyler’s father, Reese’s girlfriend, and Brent’s personal “babysitter.” The extra cast fleshed out the story in a satisfying way, while Myckle managed to prevent the crowd from feeling overwhelming.
While I could appreciate the drama of the characters’ developing relationships, nothing in the stories struck me as being distastefully angsty. All the problems and troubles they faced were fairly realistic ones, which kept the stories light and enjoyable instead of gut-wrenching. There are times when readers want a heartbreaking epic, and then there are times when the reader wants to sit back and enjoy a simple tale of how two lovers meet, and Myckles is very good at meeting exactly that need.
I have a very bad habit of skipping through sex scenes entirely in order to get back to the plot – which didn’t happen in these stories. Myckles is quite good at mixing character interaction in with graphic sexuality, which, considering my habit of skipping entire pages, is something I consider notable. The sex was definitely hot, the storylines were interesting, and the relationships between the main characters held my attention through every page.

There were two somewhat-odd recurring themes through all three of these books which slightly puzzled me. First, the tendency of the bottoms to believe themselves unworthy of the tops. Second, the many statements of “I’m not gay.”
… I don’t actually have anything insightful or profound to say about these themes, I just thought I’d mention them.

I know I can honestly recommend these particular novels to prospective readers. I can’t say I’ll read all of Myckles’ books, because I know for a fact that some of them have elves in them, so it’s just not going to happen. However, if you have a stronger stomach than I do and can actually tolerate the idea of an elf in a romantic capacity (ew), then browse through her other novels as well. Myckles as an author who is consistently capable of creating enjoyable romantic stories.

Bottom:
Heaven:
I really liked this one. What I thought truly stood out in this book was the overt sensuality and sexuality in it. Johnnie dripped sex. All of the sex scenes were hot. The hottest scene, by far, had to be the photo shoot. Johnnie on the prowl was amazingly sexual. I really like the way Mykles can practically draw a picture for the reader. You really do see the actions. She’s very good at using small details that bring the action alive without being boring stage directions used to just set the scene.
Johnnie was awesome as a character; not only for his up-front sexuality, but also for his fun-loving attitude and his ability to focus on the one he really wanted. Tyler was a great other-half to him and I could really feel his fear of not wanting to rock the boat by asking questions about relationships and permanency. It’s a crippling, but completely understandable, fear.
The story was good and the supporting characters were utilized well, if a tad bit predictably on a couple of occasions. The pacing was good and the editing was phenomenal for this genre.

Purgatory:
Again, pretty hot. Not as hot as Heaven, but still very good. Still kept me very interested in what was going to happen between the sheets. I really loved Reece. I mean, he just rocked. He was a real fighter, even as he was giving up, he was still fighting for what he thought he should be doing. The only issue I have is that I wanted him to be angry with Luc for casually throwing his life off course on that particular night. I can understand why Luc did it, and continued to do it, but I totally expected —and thought it was warranted— that Reece get a bit pissed off. Again, I thought their pairing was good and very realistic. I especially enjoyed Reece’s breakdown. At that point I could see the pain and destruction that Luc had inflicted that long-ago night, and I thought it was brilliantly written and very convincing. The two characters really played well off each other, and I loved their fight scenes. You could really see this couple lasting forever.
Again, damn near flawless editing, which I truly appreciated and I believe sets the bar high for other authors in this genre and ebook format.

Hell:
Now this one was the one that, while enjoyable, wasn’t great. Which is odd, because Hell was a character I would normally be all over. And I was, but I thought Brent was… Well, I think the “Oh, he can’t be interested in me. He’s too above me” theme had been played out at this point and coupled with Brent’s broken personality it didn’t work as well as the other two books had. Brent was weak and confused and seemed to me to be poorly put together as a character. I can see that he was meant to be broken, but the pieces didn’t seem to fit for me. I could understand his fears and desires; I just couldn’t quite understand all of his actions.
I thoroughly enjoyed the role reversal, but I just couldn’t quite get into it as much as I wanted to due to Brent’s whining. Tyler and Reece struggled on, while Brent just flopped. Again, what made this a book I would read again was Mykles ability to portray actions so that everything comes off very naturally. There was an intimacy to the actions and the dialog that really drew me in. The fights between everyone were very well done, I thought, and I enjoyed every moment of them.
But there was a serious problem with this book in the editing department. Maybe there was a rush due to deadline, or the editor for the previous two books was unavailable, but there is a distressing lack of periods in Hell. Other than that, I didn’t see too many other typos, but the period thing was a definite eyebrow raiser.

I have read four of Mykles’ books now and, at this point, I can say that I would read anything by her. (By the way, I do not have the same loathing of elves as my collaborator has, so I’m A-Ok with reading the Dark Elves series.) Her ability with sex scenes is awesome, if she nails the characters. Which, for me, has been a 90% success rate. Also, the theme through the four I’ve read definitely centers on the bottom feeling unfit to be with the top, which isn’t a bad thing. But I would love to read more from Mykles in the future. I think she would really excel at other ideas and themes. The only thing that I don’t particularly like is the use of the word “boner”. It just seems… middle school to me. But that’s a very personal particularity and it in no way detracts from her writing.
The fun thing about Mykles’ books, for me, is spotting the Japan reference. As a fellow Japanophile, I saw the obsession creep up in all four of the books I’ve read of hers and I smiled every time.

Overall, this was a highly entertaining series. The book covers are gorgeous, so big props to P.L. Nunn for those. The characters are lovable and make you very happy to see them pop up again in each successive book. I look forward to the fourth in this series… and hope it is M/M. I would recommend any, and most definitely all, of these books to readers who enjoy slight angst, fun characters, and hot sex.

