The Wicca Man: Tongue-Tied
Emily Veinglory
ebook
Get it here!

When Sean, a conservative psychology professor, is cornered one night by a very buff creature of the night, he does the first thing he can think of. Casts a spell. Not just any spell. A love spell. And it works.

Now the vampire, Thane, is head over heels for Sean and causing chaos in his life. Even worse, Sean’s falling in love with him, too. But is it real or just the magic?

The witches are pissed Sean used coercive black magic. The vampires want Thane back. And Sean knows, if you love something, you’ve got to set it free. If it comes back, it’s meant to be, right? The only problem is, the being he’s setting free is a bloodthirsty vampire, and there’s a lot more at stake than just matters of the heart.

Top:
I wasn’t really expecting to like this book. I almost passed on it the moment I laid eyes on the words “Wiccan” and “vampire,” since those are two key-words that will send me running in the opposite direction almost as fast as “elf.” A vampire? In my opinion, vampires are passe in the romance genre, much like sheiks and Spanish noblemen. And a Wiccan? Since when has any writer other than Whitley Strieber been capable of creating an intriguing Wiccan character, much less a Wiccan male?

I’m not really sure what caused me to buy it. Probably the cover art… which, by the way, is superb. So imagine my surprise when I finished this book only to realize that I’d been having so much fun reading it, I couldn’t be bothered to remember why I didn’t think I’d like it.

This book was fun. Veinglory’s show-and-tell style created extremely interesting characters, the plot was engrossing and twisty, the angst was integral to the characterization and plot instead of being present for angst’s sake alone, and the humor was incidental instead of contrived. Most importantly, Veinglory dumped all of the ridiculous, over-blown, trite crap that makes me hate Wiccans and vampires in favor of bringing something creative and original to the story. She injected science into magic, turned the mystical into the prosaic, and took karma out of the hands of the ineffable Universe and put it back into the realm of human interaction where it belongs. The Head Villain and her fiendish minions may seem to have a remarkably silly goal in mind, yet The True Evil behind their dastardliness is still quite shudder-inducing. All of the rest of the minor characters are very well-crafted and contribute meaningfully to the story instead of being mere background noise.

My favorite character turned out to be the one I thought I’d hate the most. Thane is hot and sexy in a bloodsucking-monster-turned-domestic-nymph kind of way, but it’s not his hotness that made him fascinating to me. His presence is so understated in comparison to Sean’s that there were times in the novel when I almost forgot that I was reading a romance, too distracted by all the other events that were going on. By the time I finished, though, I’d come to realize that even when Thane’s body might be absent, his influence could still be keenly felt as the driving force behind almost everything that was going on. He wasn’t just the second romantic leading character – he was the point of it all, the ultimate goal, the prize that both Sean and I were keeping our eyes on throughout all the chaos and distractions.

I thought Sean was an incredible character, in his own right. Not a righteous man, just a good man; a reluctant white-hat, but a damned appealing human being. There’s much to be said about Sean, but I’ll let LdDurham say it.

This book has too much background universe, plot, and development to ever be dismissed as “fluffy,” but it is comfortably light and highly entertaining. Do I recommend this novel to others? Oh, hell yeah!

Bottom:
This was just a fun story. And the cover was gorgeous!

Sean is one of those characters that you can understand. He missed that certain road in his life and just can’t seem to find it. And isn’t even sure anymore if that was ever the right road for him. He is a quiet professor, untenured, single, deeply in the closet, and can’t tell his assistant that she shouldn’t be making every excuse to rub against him.

When he meets Thane he relies on the one spell that leaps to his frightened mind. A spell that he throws out to save his life from a vampire. Now single and cowardly Sean has a vampire on a leash. If he keeps it on, he is considered a black witch. If he takes it off, there’s a good chance he’ll be killed.

When looking for help, he stumbles across a dark plot on campus and he and Thane and his few friends are quickly dragged into it.

The writing was good and well paced. The whole love spell thing could have been a really cheesy plot device, but Veinglory used it well and very convincingly. I would have liked a bit more fleshing out of the story, but I’m hoping this is just the beginning of a long series so I’m not too distraught over it.

I laughed out loud several times in this book. Sean has a dry wit that is perfect. Some of the one-liners I’ve already used myself with friends and family, they were that good.

The characters were all great. All of them had a purpose and all of them played their part very well. Again, I would have liked more of Thane, but I understand that this is just the beginning.

I hope Veinglory writes more and more about Sean and Thane and company. It was entertaining, sensual, and well-done. I am happily anticipating the next Wicca Man book.

I recommend this to anyone who is up for a bit of light and fun reading. The die-hard vampire enthusiast won’t have a huge amount to drool over in this book, but I expect bigger and better things from this series

